Skip to main content

This version of GitHub Enterprise was discontinued on 2022-06-03. No patch releases will be made, even for critical security issues. For better performance, improved security, and new features, upgrade to the latest version of GitHub Enterprise. For help with the upgrade, contact GitHub Enterprise support.

Setting repository visibility

You can choose who can view your repository.

About repository visibility changes

Organization owners can restrict the ability to change repository visibility to organization owners only. For more information, see "Restricting repository visibility changes in your organization."

We recommend reviewing the following caveats before you change the visibility of a repository.

Warning: Changes to the visibility of a large repository or repository network may affect data integrity. Visibility changes can also have unintended effects on forks. GitHub recommends the following before changing the visibility of a repository network.

  • Wait for a period of reduced activity on your GitHub Enterprise Server instance.

  • Contact your site administrator before proceeding. Your site administrator can contact GitHub Enterprise Support for further guidance.

Making a repository private

Making a repository internal

Making a repository public

  • GitHub Enterprise Server will detach private forks and turn them into a standalone private repository. For more information, see "