Skip to main content

Personal account management

Learn how to manage your personal account on your GitHub Enterprise Server instance.

About converting your personal account

Converting a personal account into an organization allows you move to a shared account where a large number of people can collaborate across many projects at once. Converting your account:

  • Preserves the repositories as they are without the need to transfer them to another account manually
  • Automatically invites collaborators to teams with permissions equivalent to what they had before

When you convert a personal account into an organization, we'll add collaborators on repositories that belong to the account to the new organization as outside collaborators. You can then invite outside collaborators to become members of your new organization if you wish. For more information, see Roles in an organization.

To convert your personal account into an organization, see Converting a user into an organization.

About deletion of your personal account

Deleting your personal account removes all repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests, and pages owned by your account. Issues and pull requests you've created and comments you've made in repositories owned by other users will not be deleted.

If you're the only owner of an organization, you must transfer ownership to another person or delete the organization before you can delete your personal account. If there are other owners in the organization, you must remove yourself from the organization before you can delete your personal account.

For more information, see the following articles.

To delete your personal account, see Deleting your personal account.

About unlinking your email address

Since an email address can only be associated with a single GitHub account, when you've lost your 2FA credentials and are unable to recover access, unlinking your email address from the locked account allows you to link that email address to a new or existing account. Additionally, linking a previously used commit email address to a new account will connect your commit history to that account. Unless you have chosen to keep your email address private, your account's commit email address is the same as your account's primary email address. See Setting your commit email address.

Note

The GitHub-provided noreply email address cannot be unlinked from an account. Commits authored with a noreply address cannot be reconnected to a different account.

Be aware that nothing else associated with your 2FA locked account, including your repositories, permissions, and profile, will transfer to your new account.

Unlinking email addresses is only available for accounts with 2FA enabled. If you do not have 2FA enabled, you can sign in and remove your email address from your account settings.

Educational benefits cannot be transferred after an email address is unlinked and associated with a different account. To keep these benefits, you must continue using the original account that was used to apply.

To unlink an email address, see Unlinking your email address from a locked account.