Skip to main content

This version of GitHub Enterprise Server was discontinued on 2024-01-04. No patch releases will be made, even for critical security issues. For better performance, improved security, and new features, upgrade to the latest version of GitHub Enterprise Server. For help with the upgrade, contact GitHub Enterprise support.

Deleting and restoring a package

Learn how to delete or restore a package.

Package deletion and restoration support on GitHub

On GitHub if you have the required access, you can delete:

  • an entire private package
  • an entire public package, if there's not more than 5000 downloads of any version of the package
  • a specific version of a private package
  • a specific version of a public package, if the package version doesn't have more than 5,000 downloads

Note:

  • You cannot delete a public package if any version of the package has more than 5,000 downloads. In this scenario, contact us through the GitHub Support portal for further assistance.
  • When deleting public packages, be aware that you may break projects that depend on your package.

On GitHub, you can also restore an entire package or package version, if:

  • You restore the package within 30 days of its deletion.
  • The same package namespace is still available and not used for a new package.

Packages API support

For certain registries, you can use GraphQL to delete a version of a private package.

You cannot use the GitHub Packages GraphQL API with registries that support granular permissions. For the registries that only support repository-scoped permissions, and can be used with the GraphQL API, see "About permissions for GitHub Packages."

Required permissions to delete or restore a package

With registries that support granular permissions, you can choose to allow packages to be scoped to a user or an organization, or linked to a repository.